One Bowl Chocolate Fudge Cake (THM S)

I have to come clean…..I’ve just eaten this for breakfast while I finalize this post.  It’s that good!! lol

This One Bowl Chocolate Fudge Cake (with a dairy free option) is super easy to make, and extra nice to clean up.  I don’t know about you but since starting THM (read my testimony here) I’ve been on double dish duty, so making a THM dessert that’s tasty, moist, fudgy AND super easy to clean up is a very welcome change indeed.

#Disclaimer ….you do indeed have to wash the two round pans you bake this in as well! Lol

One Bowl Chocolate Fudge Cake

This Cake has a dense fudge cake texture that is thick and decadent, and how to top it is totally up to you…..I’ve made this with a couple different frostings, my Salted Caramel Whipped Topping and with my Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Frosting (as seen in these photos),  I’ve even combined the two and made it with my Salted Caramel as the middle layer frosting and the Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Frosting as the outer frosting. (drool)  Another delicious option is when I’ve kept it super simple and had this unfrosted with fresh strawberries and whipped cream….yup…all winners in my book. ❤

fan page pinned post

Make this one for your family and friends that aren’t currently doing THM….they will be clueless that they’ve just eaten something that isn’t destroying their waistlines.  It’s so delicious!! ❤

a pinterest icon

IMG_20160505_171337

Ingredients:

3/4 cup Gentle Sweet Blend (buy here)  -OR-  6 Tbsp of Super Sweet Blend (buy here)

1 1/2 cups THM Baking Blend (buy here) -OR- Nili’s Baking Mix (find recipe here) * see note

3/4 cup unsweetened Cocoa Powder (buy here)

1 1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1 1/2 tsp Baking Powder

1 tsp Mineral Salt (buy here)

1 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk

1/2 cup Butter (melted)  – OR –   1/2 cup Coconut oil for a dairy free option (melted)

2 tsp Vanilla Extract

2 Eggs

1 cup of Boiled Water

 

Instructions:

  1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease the bottom and side rims of two nine inch round pans and line the bottoms with parchment paper.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, add sweetener, baking blend, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder and salt.  Blend in almond milk, melted butter (or coconut oil for dairy free option), vanilla extract, 2 eggs and blend well for a couple minutes.  Once well blended slowly add in the cup of boiling water until well mixed in scrapping side of bowl to ensure it’s blended well.
  3. Pour the cake batter into the two prepared round cake pans and bake for 20-30 minutes until the cake is done by testing with a toothpick.  Let cake cool completely then remove from pans and place on a wire rack to cool before frosting.  This cake becomes more fudgy the longer it cools.  Even better the second day, if you can wait that long. 😉

* I can’t recommend any other baking mixes with this recipe first hand, as I’ve only used either the THM Baking Blend and Nili’s Baking Mix and both yield an incredible cake that’s fudgy (once cooled) and decadent.  So please proceed with caution when using other mixes.  You can purchase the Trim Healthy Baking Blend (buy here) or gather the ingredients you need see (list here)

One Bowl Chocolate Fudge Cake (THM S)

  • Servings: 8-10
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print
 Credit: www.chrissybenoitinlove.com

Ingredients:

3/4 cup Gentle Sweet Blend (buy here)  -OR-  6 Tbsp of Super Sweet Blend (buy here)

1 1/2 cups THM Baking Blend (buy here) -OR- Nili’s Baking Mix (find recipe here) * see note

3/4 cup unsweetened Cocoa Powder (buy here)

1 1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1 1/2 tsp Baking Powder

1 tsp Mineral Salt (buy here)

1 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk

1/2 cup Butter (melted)  – OR –   1/2 cup Coconut oil for a dairy free option (melted)

2 tsp Vanilla Extract

2 Eggs

1 cup of Boiled Water

Instructions:

  1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease the bottom and side rims of two nine inch round pans and line the bottoms with parchment paper.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, add sweetener, baking blend, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder and salt.  Blend in almond milk, melted butter (or coconut oil for dairy free option), vanilla extract, 2 eggs and blend well for a couple minutes.  Once well blended slowly add in the cup of boiling water until well mixed in scrapping side of bowl to ensure it’s blended well.
  3. Pour the cake batter into the two prepared round cake pans and bake for 20-30 minutes until the cake is done by testing with a toothpick.  Let cake cool completely then remove from pans and place on a wire rack to cool before frosting.  This cake becomes more fudgy the longer it cools.  Even better the second day, if you can wait that long. 😉

*  I can’t recommend any other baking mixes with this recipe first hand, as I’ve only used either the THM Baking Blend and Nili’s Baking Mix and both yield an incredible cake that’s fudgy (once cooled) and decadent.  So please proceed with caution when using other mixes.  You can purchase the Trim Healthy Baking Blend (buy here) or gather the ingredients you need see (list here)

Created by Chrissy Benoit May 2016

http://www.chrissybenoitinlove.com

a pinterest icon

With Love,

Chrissy ❤

44 thoughts on “One Bowl Chocolate Fudge Cake (THM S)

  1. Mmm….looks amazing! Just wanted to let you know right away that I have a “One Bowl Chocolate Cake” recipe all ready and waiting to go in my cookbook, that way if you see it later you know I wasn’t stealing your recipe! 😛 Yours looks amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The cake isn’t nut free, you’d need to change up the baking blend, the almond milk and the frosting. I’ve not used another baking blend to give you an idea if it’ll work well or not. Experiment and have fun with it! Make it your own. ❤

      Like

  2. What would you suggest on cooking time to make in a bundt pan? I’m lazy and I don’t like making layer cakes, but I love a slice of bundt with some real whipped cream. 🙂

    Like

  3. I can’t wait to try this recipe out. Since I will be the only one eating, I am wondering about making the batter into cupcakes and freezing them un-iced for portion control. Do you think it would work? If so, how long would you bake them for? Thanks a bunch. 🙂

    Like

    1. You can use another, make at home mix, I suggest Nili’s Baking Mix first as it’s so so similar to THM’s, however I can’t guarantee how it would turn out comparatively to the original, but I say give it a go!!!

      Like

  4. Is there a chocolate frosting recipe, to have chocolate-frosted chocolate? Because chocolate-frosted chocolate is one of my very favorite things ever! 😀 I thought of making just chocolate whipped cream but, alas, my husband doesn’t like whipped cream, and I fear I’d find myself eating the whole cake at once if not stopped. 😉

    Like

    1. I have left it out for one night and two days without issue…. Mind you it’s still cool in Eastern Canada. I’ve also left it in the fridge and it gets even fudgier. So I suggest going with your gut. ❤

      Like

  5. I made this yesterday. The cake took at least 40 minutes before the toothpick was (almost) clean. I found it to have kind of a rubbery texture and wondering if I did something wrong? Only thing different from the recipe was that I used a diy version of the THM baking mix. Couldn’t find oat fiber so I used psyllium husks in it. Would that have caused the extra long baking time or the rubbery texture?

    Like

    1. Oh I’m sorry to hear that Stacey, however that change in the baking blend is exactly what happened. Unfortunately blends that don’t use Oat fiber don’t come out as light and airy as those that do. I highly recommend getting some and either making a blend like Nili’s Baking Mix or getting THM’S baking blend in order for this to turn out like written.

      Like

  6. Ok, this cake is delicious, thank you so much! I’ve been missing a good chocolate cake! I have a tree nut allergy so I made some tweaks by using Briana Thomas’s baking mix and coconut milk instead of almond and it turned out wonderful! Even better the second day! My hubby licked the bowl and my kids ate it up with oohs and mmmm’s….thank you again!

    Like

  7. I made this and it was extremely flat, any idea what went wrong? I used THM baking blend and followed the recipe to a T. Thanks!

    Like

    1. Well it’s not a super fluffy cake, it’s more dense and thick. However it does raise just a bit when it’s baking so I’m not sure why yours didn’t if you followed the recipe and didn’t leave anything out. Did you use the round baking pans?

      Like

  8. I made this cake this past weekend to celebrate two birthdays. It is the first layer cake I have made since eating THM for over 2 years. This cake was soooo good. Everyone who ate it (about 10 different people) loved it! Thank Chrissybenoit!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

